Urban Living

This article referencing Karl Case of the Standard & Poor’s/Case Shiller home price index discusses recent home pricing trends and how to ensure a good value in your home.  This article was a great encouragement for me considering I live walking distance in downtown Durham to almost everything I need.

My husband and I moved last year from our bungalow in Old West Durham to a loft downtown. Leaving the great community in Old West Durham was a hard decision but we have been very happy in our new home.

In the mornings I run through town, past my favorite restaurants and shops, and back home through Trinity Park. My morning jog allows me to feel connected to our city and watch changes as they happen. I also take yoga a couple times a week a Patanjali’s Place only a few blocks away.

When not showing houses, I can walk to the office and walk back home for lunch. If I don’t want to pack I can then walk downtown for lunch at any one of the great downtown lunch options including Rue Cler, Toast, Beyu, Bull McCabes, Dos Perros, Ninth St. Bakery and more.

After work we often meet friends for a drink at the Federal, Whiskey or West End Wine Bar.  And again at dinnertime we have many options all within walking distance. Our biggest challenge is keeping our food budget in check- but who could blame us?

If it’s walking to a Bulls game, DPAC or the Farmers Market it’s hard not to feel like the luckiest people in the world. My husband’s favorite walkable activities are the Triangle Brewery Tour and the Skatepark.

Between King’s opening back up, Fullsteam and The Geer on Rigsbee, and the new Morris Ridge Condos, there is a lot of activity downtown.

As our friends know, we love to explore Durham food & drink and if you ever need some advice, you know where to find me. If you’ve been considering a move closer to town, I’d love to tell you more about our experience.

Leave a Reply

